EOOS Governance

Steering Group

The EOOS Steering Group was established in early 2016 to guide the development of EOOS. The steering group ensured the initial engagement with key stakeholders to gain support for EOOS (e.g. EOOS European Parliament event), signed off on EOOS branding, and is guiding the development of the EOOS strategy and implementation plan. The strategy and implementation plan are being developed further to the EOOS Consultation Document (pdf), developed by the steering group in 2016, and the consequent stakeholder survey.  Through the EOOS events, the steering group is engaging further with wide stakeholders, supported by ad hoc EOOS committees (e.g. 2018 Forum and Conference Advisory Committee). EuroGOOS and EMB secretariats co-chair the steering group and provide in kind support to its activities.

EOOS Steering Group members and observers:

  • Glenn Nolan, Steering Group Co-Chair, European Global Ocean Observing System, EuroGOOS
  • Sheila Heymans, Steering Group Co-Chair, European Marine Board, EMB
  • Isabel Sousa Pinto, CIIMAR, Portugal / MBON
  • Jacky Wood, JPI Oceans
  • Pierre-Yves Le Traon, Mercator Ocean and Ifremer, France
  • George Petihakis, Hellenic Centre for Marine Research, HCMR, Greece
  • Iain Shepherd, European Commission DG MARE (Observer)
  • Sigi Gruber/ Marco Weydert, European Commission DG R&I (Observer)
  • Richard Gilmore/Fabienne Jacq, European Commission DG GROW (Observer)

Supporting the Steering Group

  • Dina Eparkhina, European Global Ocean Observing System, EuroGOOS

Contact: info [at] eoos-ocean.eu

2018 Forum and Conference Advisory Committee 

An Advisory Committee was set up at the end of 2017 to advise on the programmes of the two EOOS events 2018, Forum and Conference, and assist with promotion of and stakeholder engagement with EOOS. EOOS steering group members and supporting team are also members of the advisory committee.

  • Neil Holdsworth & Mark Dickey-Collas, ICES
  • Pierre-Yves Le Traon Mercator Ocean / Ifremer, France
  • Corine Lochet, SHOM / Service Hydrographique et Océanographique de la Marine, France
  • Jan Mees, European Marine Board
  • George Petihakis, European Global Ocean Observing System, EuroGOOS
  • Nadia Pinardi, Bologna University / JCOMM / Copernicus
  • Susana Salvador, OSPAR Commission
  • Isabel Sousa-Pinto, CIMAR, Portugal
  • Joaquín Tintoré, SOCIB, Spain
  • Koen Verbruggen, Geological Survey of Ireland
  • Jacky Wood, JPI Oceans
  • Phil Weaver, EMODnet Steering Committee Chair
  • Catherine Boyen, Biological Station Roscoff, France/ Euromarine Network
  • Ricardo Serrão Santos, Member of the European Parliament
  • Richard Gilmore & Fabienne Jacq, European Commission DG GROW
  • Sigi Gruber, European Commission DG RTD (Marine Resources Unit)
  • Agnes Robin, European Commission DG RTD (Research Infrastructures)
  • Iain Shepherd, European Commission DG MARE
  • Glenn Nolan (EOOS Steering Group co-chair) & Dina Eparkhina, EuroGOOS
  • Sheila Heymans (EOOS Steering Group co-chair), European Marine Board
  • Jan-Bart Calewaert, EMODnet Secretariat

Contact: info [at] eoos-ocean.eu