EOOS Advisory Committee

The EOOS Advisory Committee advises the EOOS Steering Group and brings a broader stakeholder representation into the EOOS governance. The Advisory Committee was set up at the end of 2017 to advise on the EOOS Forum (8 March 2018) and the EOOS Conference (21-23 November 2018). From there, the Advisory Committee evolved into a more permanent structure, meeting in its current form since October 2019.

The members of the Advisory Committee work towards the EOOS objectives as set out in the EOOS strategy and implementation plan . The Advisory Committee encompasses a core group of representative stakeholders that serve in their capacity as experts. The Advisory Committee’s key responsibilities are to:

  • Provide information about events and developments relevant to EOOS;
  • Advise on the process and status of gathering user requirements from the sectors of the membership of the EOOS Advisory Committee;
  • Enable the EOOS implementation plan where practicable;
  • Advise the EOOS Steering Group about changes in the ocean observation landscape, programme funding, new drivers and feasibility, and scientific foresight;
  • Advise on mapping ocean observation infrastructure and human capacity development;
  • Identify shared priorities at European level combining EOOS Advisory Committee member knowledge of the European ocean observing landscape and advise on how EOOS may add value in this context.

The members of the Advisory Committee are selected by the EOOS Steering Group, and additional members can be suggested upon specific recommendation or identified need by both committees, and approved by the Steering Group.

The EOOS Advisory Committee Terms of Reference are available here:

EOOS Advisory Committee members:

  • Sheila Heymans – Co-Chair, Executive Director, European Marine Board
  • Inga Lips – Co-Chair, Secretary General, EuroGOOS
  • Henrik Steen Andersen, Project Manager Copernicus In Situ Component, European Environment Agency
  • Catherine Boyen, Chair, EuroMarine, and Fabrice Not, Manager, EuroMarine
  • Albert Fisher, Head of Ocean Observations and Services Section (Global Ocean Observing System), Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO
  • Neil Holdsworth, Head of the Data Centre, International Council for the Exploration of the Sea (ICES)
  • Urmas Lips, Chair of Platform on Sufficiency of Measures, HELCOM
  • Corine Lochet, Executive Secretary of the European Network of the International Hydrographic Organization
  • Nadia Pinardi, Co-President, Infrastructure Committee of WMO
  • Martin Pastoors, Chief Science Officer, Pelagic Freezer-trawler Association
  • Paolo Cipollini, Ocean and Ice Senior scientist, European Space Agency
  • Estelle Obligis, Competence Area Manager for Oceanography, European Organisation for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites (EUMETSAT)
  • Sara Garavelli, EOSC Program Manager at CSC – IT Center for Science & EOSC Finnish Forum Coordinator
  • Peter Braesicke, Professor, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) – Chair, European Climate Research Alliance (ECRA)

EOOS Advisory Committee observers:

  • David Connor, European Commission DG Environment
  • Iain Shepherd and Zoi Konstantinou, European Commission DG Maritime Affairs and Fisheries
  • Nicolas Segebarth and Agnes Robin, European Commission DG Research and Innovation
  • Fabienne Jacq, European Commission DG Defence Industry and Space

The Advisory Committee is supported by Ángel E. Muñiz Piniella, Science Officer, European Marine Board