EOOS Operations Committee

The EOOS Operations Committee is part of the EOOS governance representing the ocean observing implementers at national, regional and pan-European levels to help with the long-term sustainability of the ocean observing efforts in Europe and to implement EOOS progressively.

Established in 2020, the committee builds on the experience provided by EuroGOOS, relevant European Research Infrastructures and earth observation agencies, research vessel operators and network of marine stations, as well as the EuroGOOS Regional Operational Oceanographic Systems (ROOS), and task teams.

It also builds on and supports the Global Ocean Observing System (GOOS), through the GOOS National Focal Points for Europe as the principal liaison point to each nation to establish a two-way dialogue between the national implementers of ocean observing, EOOS and GOOS.

The EOOS Operations Committee key responsibilities are to:

  • Provide information about relevant opportunities for EOOS;
  • Support the flow of information on ocean observing activities across scales;
  • Identify system requirements to meet user needs for sustainable ocean observing;
  • Support and enable the EOOS implementation plan;
  • Provide advice to the EOOS Steering Group about changes in the ocean observing landscape and identify actions for EOOS to further its goals and objectives;
  • Advocate for coordinated and integrated sustained ocean observing system;
  • Contribute to the mapping of infrastructure, technology and human capacity;
  • Identify shared priorities through the development of a work plan;
  • Provide advice on EOOS added value.

The Operations Committee membership includes:

  • GOOS National Focal Points for Europe;
  • Relevant European Research Infrastructures;
  • European Earth Observation Agencies;
  • EuroGOOS Regional Operational Oceanographic Systems (ROOS);
  • EuroGOOS Task Teams.

The EOOS Operations Committee Terms of Reference are available here:

Members of the EOOS Operations Committee:

  • Adrian Stanica, Danubius, European Infrastructure
  • Agnieszka Beszczyńska-Moeller, Instytut Oceanologii Polskiej Akademii Nauk, GOOS National Focal Point – Poland
  • Alain Ratier, EUMETSAT, European Infrastructure
  • Aldo Drago, University of Malta, GOOS National Focal Point – Malta
  • Andrew King, Norsk Institutt For Vannforskning, EuroGOOS FerryBox Task Team
  • Joao Vitorino, Instituto Hydrographico, GOOS National Focal Point – Portugal
  • Antti Westerlund, Finnish Meteorological Institute, GOOS National Focal Point – Finland
  • Aodhan Fitzgerald, Eurofleets, European Infrastructure
  • Atanas Palazov, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, GOOS National Focal Point – Bulgaria
  • Angela Hibbert, National Oceanography Centre (NOC), EuroGOOS Tide Gauge Task Team
  • Carlos Barrera, Consorcio para el Diseno, Construccion, Equipamiento y Explotacion de la Plataforma Oceanica de Canarias, EuroGOOS Gliders Task Team
  • Caroline Cusack, Marine Institute, GOOS National Focal Point – Ireland
  • Christos Arvanitidis, LifeWatch, European Infrastructure
  • Daniel Hayes, University of Cyprus, GOOS National Focal Point – Cyprus
  • Diana Vaiciute, Marine Research Institute Klaipeda University, GOOS National Focal Point – Lithuania
  • Giuseppe Magnifico, Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, EuroGOOS Fixed Platforms Task Team
  • Henning Wehde, Institute of Marine Research, GOOS National Focal Point – Norway
  • Igor Zemlianov, State Oceanographic Institute, GOOS National Focal Point – Russia
  • Inga Lips, EuroGOOS
  • Iviça Vílibic, Institute of Oceanography and Fisheries, GOOS National Focal Point – Croatia
  • Juan Jose Dañobeitia, European Multidisciplinary Seafloor and water column Observatory (EMSO), European Infrastructure
  • Julien Mader, Fundacion Azti, EuroGOOS HF Radar Task Team
  • Jun She, Danmarks Meteorologiske Institut, EuroGOOS BOOS
  • Kees Borst, Rijkswaterstaat Centrale Informatievoorziening, GOOS National Focal Point – Netherlands
  • Kerstin Jochumsen, Federal Maritime and Hydrographic Agency, GOOS National Focal Point – Germany
  • Laurent Delauney, JERICO, European Infrastructure
  • Laurent Mortier, IPSL Laboratory of Oceanography and Climate, GROOM II
  • Leonidas Perivoliotis, Hellenic Centre for Marine Research, GOOS National Focal Point – Greece
  • Lieven Naudts, European Research Vessels Operators (ERVO), European Infrastructure
  • Luminita Buga, National Institute for Marine Research and Development “Grigore Antipa”, GOOS National Focal Point – Romania
  • Maja Jeromel, Slovenian Environmental Agency, GOOS National Focal Point – Slovenia
  • Manuel Ruiz Villareal, Instituto Español de Oceanografía, EuroGOOS IBI ROOS
  • Matt Frost,European network of Marine Stations, European Infrastructure
  • Nicolas Pade, European Marine Biological Research Centre (EMBRC), European Infrastructure
  • Patrick Gorringe, Swedish Meteorological and Hydrological Institute, GOOS National Focal Point – Sweden
  • Pedro Velez Belchi, Instituto Español de Oceanografía, GOOS National Focal Point – Spain
  • Penny Holliday, National Oceanography Centre, GOOS National Focal Point – UK
  • Pierre Femenias, European Space Agency (ESA), European Infrastructure
  • Pierre-Yves LeTraon, Mercator Ocean International, GOOS National Focal Point – France
  • Richard Sanders, Integrated Carbon Observation System (ICOS), European Infrastructure
  • Rosalia Santoleri, Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche(CNR), GOOS National Focal Point – Italy
  • Sebastien Legrand, RBINS, GOOS National Focal Point – Belgium
  • Sólveig Rósa Ólafsdóttir, Marine and Freshwater Research Institute, GOOS National Focal Point – Iceland
  • Steffen Olsen, Danish Meteorological Institute, GOOS National Focal Point – Denmark
  • Sylvie Pouliquen, EuroArgo and EuroGOOS Argo Task Team
  • Taavi Liblik, Tallinna Tehnikaulikool, GOOS National Focal Point – Estonia
  • Valters Zeizis, Latvian, Environment, Geology and Meteorology Center, GOOS National Focal Point – Latvia
  • Vanessa Cardin, Istituto Nazionale di Oceanografia e di Geofisica Sperimentale, EuroGOOS MONGOOS
  • Viktor Komorin, Ukrainian Scientific Center of the Ecology of the Sea, GOOS National Focal Point – Ukraine
  • Zurab Savaneli, Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University, GOOS National Focal Point – Georgia

As of 10 March 2021, the Operations Committee chair is Laurent Delauney and vice-chair is Inga Lips.

The Operations Committee is supported by Ana Lara-Lopez, Science Officer, EuroGOOS.