Operations Committee

Back to Governance

About the Operations Committee

The EOOS Operations Committee is part of the EOOS governance representing the ocean observing implementers at national, regional and pan-European levels to help with the long-term sustainability of the ocean observing efforts in Europe and to implement EOOS progressively.

Established in 2020, the committee builds on the experience provided by EuroGOOS, relevant European Research Infrastructures and earth observation agencies, research vessel operators and network of marine stations, as well as the EuroGOOS Regional Operational Oceanographic Systems (ROOS), and task teams.
It also builds on and supports the Global Ocean Observing System (GOOS), through the GOOS National Focal Points for Europe as the principal liaison point to each nation to establish a two-way dialogue between the national implementers of ocean observing, EOOS and GOOS.

The EOOS Operations Committee key responsibilities are to:

  • Provide information about relevant opportunities for EOOS
  • Support the flow of information on ocean observing activities across scales
  • Identify system requirements to meet user needs for sustainable ocean observing
  • Support and enable the EOOS implementation plan
  • Provide advice to the EOOS Steering Group about changes in the ocean observing landscape and identify actions for EOOS to further its goals and objectives
  • Advocate for coordinated and integrated sustained ocean observing system
  • Contribute to the mapping of infrastructure, technology and human capacity
  • Identify shared priorities through the development of a work plan
  • Provide advice on EOOS added value

The EOOS Operations Committee Terms of Reference are available here:



European GOOS National Focal Points Survey Report
EuroSea, EuroGOOS, GOOS, 2021
Download PDF (4.89 MB)


EOOS Operations Committee members:

  • Laurent Delauney

    Chair, Coordinator - JERICO-S3, Ifremer

  • Inga Lips

    vice-Chair, Secretary General - EuroGOOS

  • Adrian Stanica

    Coordinator - Danubius, National Institute for Research and Development of Marine Geology and Geoecology

  • Agnieszka Beszczyńska-Moeller

    GOOS National Focal Point – Poland, Institute of Oceanology, Polish Academy of Science

  • Alain Ratier

    Representative - European Organisation for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites

  • Aldo Drago

    GOOS National Focal Point – Malta, University of Malta

  • Andrew King

    EuroGOOS FerryBox Task Team, Norwegian Institute for Water Research

  • Laura Tuomi

    GOOS National Focal Point – Finland, Finnish Meteorological Institute

  • Aodhan Fitzgerald

    Coordinator - Eurofleets, Marine Institute Ireland

  • Atanas Palazov

    GOOS National Focal Point – Bulgaria, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences

  • Angela Hibbert

    EuroGOOS Tide Gauge Task Team, National Oceanography Centre

  • Carlos Barrera

    EuroGOOS Gliders Task Team, Oceanic Platform of the Canary Islands

  • Caroline Cusack

    GOOS National Focal Point – Ireland, Marine Institute

  • Christos Arvanitidis

    CEO - LifeWatch, Hellenic Centre for Marine Research

  • Daniel Hayes

    GOOS National Focal Point – Cyprus, University of Cyprus

  • Diana Vaiciute

    GOOS National Focal Point - Lithuania, Research Institute Klaipeda University

  • Giuseppe Magnifico

    EuroGOOS Fixed Platforms Task Team, National Research Council of Italy

  • Henning Wehde

    GOOS National Focal Point – Norway, Institute of Marine Research

  • Iviça Vílibic

    GOOS National Focal Point – Croatia, Institute of Oceanography and Fisheries

  • Joao Vitorino

    GOOS National Focal Point – Portugal, Hydrographic Institute

  • Juan Jose Dañobeitia

    Director General - European Multidisciplinary Seafloor and water column Observatory, Spanish National Research Council

  • Julien Mader

    EuroGOOS HF Radar Task Team, AZTI Foundation

  • Jun She

    EuroGOOS Baltic ROOS, Danish Meteorological Institute

  • Kees Borst

    GOOS National Focal Point – Netherlands, Rijkswaterstaat

  • Kerstin Jochumsen

    GOOS National Focal Point – Germany, Federal Maritime and Hydrographic Agency

  • Laurent Mortier

    GROOM II Coordinator, IPSL Laboratory of Oceanography and Climate

  • Leonidas Perivoliotis

    GOOS National Focal Point – Greece, Hellenic Centre for Marine Research

  • Lieven Naudts

    Coordinator - European Research Vessels Operators, Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Science

  • Luminita Buga

    GOOS National Focal Point – Romania, National Institute for Marine Research and Development “Grigore Antipa”

  • Maja Jeromel

    GOOS National Focal Point – Slovenia, Slovenian Environmental Agency

  • Manuel Ruiz Villareal

    EuroGOOS Ireland-Biscay-Iberia ROOS, Spanish Institute of Oceanography

  • Matt Frost

    Coordinator - European network of Marine Stations, Marine Biological Association

  • Nicolas Pade

    Executive Director - European Marine Biological Resource Centre

  • Patrick Gorringe

    GOOS National Focal Point – Sweden, Swedish Meteorological and Hydrological Institute

  • Pedro Velez Belchi

    GOOS National Focal Point – Spain, Spanish Institute of Oceanography

  • Penny Holliday

    GOOS National Focal Point – United Kingdom, National Oceanography Centre

  • Pierre Femenias

    Altimetry Data Quality Engineer - European Space Agency

  • Pierre-Yves LeTraon

    GOOS National Focal Point – France, Mercator Ocean International

  • Richard Sanders

    Director - Ocean Thematic Centre, Integrated Carbon Observation System

  • Rosalia Santoleri

    GOOS National Focal Point – Italy, National Research Council of Italy

  • Sebastien Legrand

    GOOS National Focal Point – Belgium and EuroGOOS North West European Shelf ROOS, Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences

  • Sólveig Rósa Ólafsdóttir

    GOOS National Focal Point – Iceland, Marine and Freshwater Research Institute

  • Steffen Olsen

    GOOS National Focal Point – Denmark and EuroGOOS Arctic ROOS, Danish Meteorological Institute

  • Yann-Herve de Roeck

    Program Manager - EuroArgo, Ifremer

  • Taavi Liblik

    GOOS National Focal Point – Estonia, Marine Systems Institute, Tallinn University of Technology

  • Viesturs Zandersons

    GOOS National Focal Point – Latvia, Latvian, Environment, Geology and Meteorology Centre

  • Vanessa Cardin

    EuroGOOS Mediterranean ROOS, National Institute of Oceanography and Experimental Geophysics

  • Viktor Komorin

    GOOS National Focal Point – Ukraine, Ukrainian Scientific Center of the Ecology of the Sea

  • Zurab Savaneli

    GOOS National Focal Point – Georgia, Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University

The Operations Committee is supported by Deniz Karaca, Science Officer, EuroGOOS.