EOOS Governance

Steering Group

The EOOS Steering Group was established in early 2016 to guide the development of EOOS. The steering group ensured the initial engagement with key stakeholders to gain support for EOOS (e.g. EOOS European Parliament event), signed off on EOOS branding, and guided the development of the EOOS strategy and implementation plan. The strategy and implementation plan are based on the EOOS Consultation Document (pdf), developed by the steering group in 2016, and two consequent stakeholder surveys.  The EOOS Steering Group activities included the European Commission observers from DG Research and Innovation, GROW, and MARE. The SG membership was updated in June 2019.

Through the EOOS events, the steering group is engaging further with wide stakeholders, supported by ad hoc EOOS committees (e.g. 2018 Forum and Conference Advisory Committee). EuroGOOS and EMB secretariats co-chair the steering group and provide in kind support to its activities.

Current EOOS Steering Group members:

  • Glenn Nolan, Steering Group Co-Chair, European Global Ocean Observing System, EuroGOOS
  • Sheila Heymans, Steering Group Co-Chair, European Marine Board, EMB
  • Isabel Sousa Pinto, CIIMAR, Portugal / MBON
  • Pierre-Yves Le Traon, Mercator Ocean and Ifremer, France / Copernicus Marine Service
  • George Petihakis, Hellenic Centre for Marine Research, HCMR, Greece
  • Jan-Bart Calewaert, EMODnet Secretariat

Supporting the Steering Group and coordinating the EOOS Communications 

  • Dina Eparkhina, European Global Ocean Observing System, EuroGOOS

Contact: info [at] eoos-ocean.eu

EOOS Advisory Committee 

The EOOS Advisory Committee advises the EOOS Steering Group and ensures a broad stakeholder representation in the EOOS governance. The members of the AC will work towards the EOOS objectives as set out in the EOOS Strategy and Implementation Plan.

  • Sheila Heymans (EOOS Steering Group co-chair), European Marine Board
  • Glenn Nolan (EOOS Steering Group co-chair) & Dina Eparkhina, EuroGOOS
  • Neil Holdsworth, ICES
  • Corine Lochet, SHOM / Service Hydrographique et Océanographique de la Marine, France
  • Nadia Pinardi, Bologna University, Italy
  • Catherine Boyen and Fabrice Not, Biological Station Roscoff, France/ EuroMarine Network
  • Henrik Steen Andersen, European Environment Agency
  • Urmas Lips, HELCOM
  • Albert Fischer, IOC-GOOS

Observers – EOOS Steering Group members:

  • Pierre-Yves Le Traon Mercator Ocean / Copernicus Marine Service
  • George Petihakis, HCMR, Greece / European Global Ocean Observing System, EuroGOOS
  • Isabel Sousa-Pinto, CIMAR, Portugal / MBON
  • Jan-Bart Calewaert, EMODnet Secretariat

Supporting the Advisory Committee  

  • Angel Muniz Piniella, European Marine Board